Saturday, September 18, 2021
HomeHeadlinesUrsula makes landfall; whole Neg Occ under storm signal

Ursula makes landfall; whole Neg Occ under storm signal


BACOLOD CITY, Philippines – Typhoon Ursula has made landfall over Salcedo, Eastern Samar, bringing with it “violent winds over the southern portion of Eastern Samar and is likely to affect Biliran, the southern portion of Samar, and northern portion of Leyte in the coming hours”.

Ursula is moving west at 25 kph with maximum sustained winds of 120 kph near the center and gustiness of up to 150 kph.

More areas are now placed under storm signal number 3, with parts of Northern Negros Occidental still under signal number 2. The rest of Negros Occidental under storm signal number 1.


Storm signal number 2 has been declared over E.B. Magalona, Victorias, Manapla, Cadiz, Sagay, Escalante, and Toboso.

Areas under signal number 3 include Masbate including Ticao Island, Northern Samar, Samar, Eastern Samar, Biliran, Leyte
and extreme Northern Cebu including Camotes Island, Medellin, Bantayan, Sta. Fe, Madridejos, San Francisco, Poro, Tudela, and

The following is the complete list of areas under signal number 2:

    • Southern portion of Quezon
    • Mulanay
    • San Narciso
    • San Andres
    • San Francisco
    • Marinduque
    • Oriental Mindoro
    • Occidental Mindoro including Lubang Island
    • Romblon
    • Albay
    • Sorsogon
    • Burias Island
    • Calamian and Cuyo Islands
    • Central portion of northern Cebu
    • Bogo City
    • Tabogon
    • Tabuelan
    • Borbon
    • northeastern Iloilo
    • Carles
    • Balasan
    • Estancia
    • Batad
    • San Dionisio
    • Sara
    • Concepcion
    • Lemery
    • Ajuy
    • northern Antique
    • Libertad
    • Pandan
    • Sebaste
    • Culasi
    • Tibiao
    • Capiz
    • Aklan
    • Southern Leyte and
    • northern Negros Occidental
    • E.B. Magalona
    • Victorias
    • Manapla
    • Cadiz
    • Sagay
    • Escalante
    • Toboso
    • Dinagat Islands.

The following is the complete list of areas under storm signal number 1:

    • Bulacan
    • Bataan
    • Metro Manila
    • Rizal
    • Cavite
    • rest of Quezon
    • Laguna
    • Batangas
    • Camarines Sur
    • Camarines Norte
    • Catanduanes
    • northern Palawan
    • Linapacan
    • El Nido
    • Taytay
    • Araceli
    • Dumaran
    • San Vicente
    • Roxas
  • Visayas
    • Rest of Cebu
    • Bohol
    • Siquijor
    • the rest of Antique
    • the rest of Iloilo
    • Guimaras
    • Negros Oriental
    • and the rest of Negros Occidental
    • Surigao del Norte including Siargao and Bucas Grande Islands.
Hannah A. Papasin
Writer. Critic. Professor. She started writing since primary school and now has two published textbooks on communication. A film buff, she's a Communication, Media Literacy and Journalism Professor of the University of St. La Salle-Bacolod, and has a Master's Degree in English.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News